Get Adobe Flash player












2014 - 2nd IN POINTS





2014- 3rd IN POINTS



































The 2015 Buckeye Super Sprint Season is sponsored by:

210 W Perkins Ave #3, Sandusky, OH 44870

Phone:(419) 625-7437




COMING UP:  AUGUST 15th, 2015





Sandusky Speedway 




Gate Information

Pits 3:00p.m. - Hotlaps 4:00pm - Front Gate 4:00pm

Qualifying 5:30 pm - Racing 7:00 pm

Pit Admission

13 and older $30

Kids 4 -12 $10

Under 4 FREE



Hy-Miler Fan Appreciation Night Full of Action as Irwin, Karl, Wilson and Short Claim Top Honors

The Hy-Miler Supermodified Nationals is the event that racers around the country have circled on their calendars for open-wheel action. Last night, the drivers of the stock car divisions took their chance at Hy-Miler glory in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Fan Appreciation Night with impressive results, with two last lap passes for the feature win, mangled racecars taking victories and newcomers extending already impressive résumés.

In Digital Yalo Ohio Stock feature action, Joe Borczuch and Julia Buckles led the field to the green flag with Buckles stealing the advantage out of turn two on the start. Clayton Karl would put his #21 Tony K’s Bar and Grill machine into the runner-up position on lap two as Jerry Karl followed his brother Clayton into the third position. Jerry would get around Clayton for second on lap six and steal the lead from Julia Buckles at the halfway mark. As Clayton followed Jerry through, Julia Buckles would pull into the speedway pit area.

However, the race for the runner-up position was still on as Rich Clingan got around Clayton Karl for second. Jerry Karl, Rich Clingan, Clayton Karl, Jeff Karl and Joe Borczuch would make up the finish with Julia Buckles out of the event around the halfway mark.

Kyle Capodice and Brian Gibbs would lead the Pie Factory Buckeye Super Sprint Series feature event to the green flag with Capodice taking the advantage going into turn one. Gibbs would return to the point on lap three as multi-time non-wing sprint champion Steve Irwin looked to take the runner-up position from Capodice. Capodice would fall to Irwin as would Gibbs, making the Carquest/Mega Restaurant machine of Irwin the new leader as Frank Neill followed Irwin through. The first caution flag of the event would fly on lap thirteen as Ray Thurston was stopped in turn three.

Irwin, Neill, Capodice, Matt Goodnight, Gibbs and Speakman made up the running order at that point in the race, and before the order would change, Speakman would spin his car out of turn four with six laps to go. Goodnight would pass Capodice for third shortly after the restart and would begin to work on Neill for the runner-up position. Goodnight would heavily challenge Frank Neill but he would not get the job done. Steve Irwin would win over Frank Neill, Matt Goodnight, Kyle Capodice, Joe Speakman and Brian Gibbs.

Carl Smith and Wayne Sweeney would lead the field to the green flag in the twenty lap Street Stock feature with Smith pulling the inside line to the top three spots on the start. Mid-season champion Logan Cooper would pass Matt Wilson on lap two for third but Wilson would fire back on lap four as Bill Johnson took the lead on the front straightaway. Wilson would take the lead around the halfway mark of the race with his absolutely mangled piece of machinery after making heavy contact in the pursuit race. The pass would be negated however as Cody Rose would stop on the back straightaway.

Bill Johnson, Matt Wilson, Mike White, Logan Cooper and Collin Penn would make up the top five at this juncture of the race but White would have problems on lap fourteen as he went off the top of the turn three hill. Wilson would use this last opportunity in order to put on one of the most spectacular shows of the season. Wilson would hang close to Johnson until the final lap. Then, in turn one, he would use his wide-open fenderless front end in order to boot Johnson out of the groove in order to win the Milan Automotive Street Stock feature. Johnson, Collin Penn, Logan Cooper, Cody Rose, Mike White, Carl Smith and Wayne Sweeney made up the rest of the finishing order.

The Melinda! Melinda! Hobby Stock division would be the final feature event of the evening with Richard Clem and Chris Nicastro leading the field to the green. Brandon Short, Dylan Watson, Brandon Halcomb and Kelly Lille would soon begin their freight train to the front, taking the top four positions by the completion of the fifth lap. Halcomb would take second with five laps in but he would break on the front straightaway with just four laps to go, setting up a four lap dash to the finish with Short leading Watson, Lille, Clem and Trent Aslasksen.

Lille would take the second position in turn four on lap twelve while Aslaksen took fourth. Lille would spin in turns three and four with two laps to go while challenging Short for the lead on the outside lane. Watson would make a final attempt during this green-white-checkered finish and would draw side-by-side with Short for the lead heading into the final lap. However, Short would edge Watson by less than a tenth of a second at the checkered flag with Aslaksen, Lille and Clem rounding out the top five. Chris Nicastro and Dan Smith finished sixth and seventh.



Contact Us


Kevin Jaycox


Email Kevin 





Kevin Jaycox


Email Kevin 














Email Kevin 




Facebook Link!